Red Bull Holden find pace in Townsville practice

The Red Bull Holden Racing Team have put Shane van Gisbergen’s ZB Commodore into P2 on completion of practice at the Townsville 400 as the squad look to climb back onto the top step of the podium in Far North Queensland this weekend.

Van Gisbergen set a cracking lap time of 1:12.6904s on his final flyer to slot himself into second position for the day, just one spot behind Lee Holdsworth and ahead of Scott McLaughlin.

“In the second session we had a whole heap to cram in because we missed practice one really (due to the wet session).” Van Gisbergen said.

“I think on both cars we learnt a lot, so that was good and we had some speed. I think we made progress and we understood a lot. The car wasn’t nice to drive, but it was fast, so now we just need to make it comfortable.”

The next best placed Holden was that of David Reynolds in his Penrite Commodore with his teammate Anton de Pasquale close behind in sixth.

Mark Winterbottom to his IRWIN Tools ZB Commodore to seventh with Scott Pye (#2 Mobil 1 Mega ZB Commodore) ninth and Tim Slade (#14 Freightliner ZB Commodore) rounding out the top-10.

Earlier in the day Practice 1 brought on the first ever wet Supercars session in Townsville 400 history.

That session saw Winterbottom finish with the second quickest time behind the wheel of his IRWIN Racing Holden while Nick Percat took his Elite Roads Holden to third place in the wet.

“Wet session, never in the nine years I’ve been here and done a wet session here,” said Winterbottom.

“It’s really slippery, surprisingly one of the slipperiest wet tracks I’ve ever driven on.

“The car felt reasonably nice to drive; you seen cars spearing off and (nearly) in the fence and in the dirt and stuff. It was tricky conditions.”

Tomorrow will see a third practice session in the morning before a 20 minute qualifying session to be followed by a 200km feature race at 3.10pm local time.

Results: Practice 2

Pos Num Team/Sponsor Driver Car Fastest lap Split
1 5 The Bottle-O Racing Team Lee Holdsworth Ford Mustang GT 1:12.6772
2 97 Red Bull Holden Racing Team Shane van Gisbergen Holden Commodore ZB 1:12.6904 0:00.0132
3 17 Shell V-Power Racing Team Scott McLaughlin Ford Mustang GT 1:12.6974 0:00.0202
4 9 Penrite Racing David Reynolds Holden Commodore ZB 1:12.7545 0:00.0773
5 6 Monster Energy Racing Team Cameron Waters Ford Mustang GT 1:12.8590 0:00.1818
6 99 Penrite Racing Anton De Pasquale Holden Commodore ZB 1:12.8967 0:00.2195
7 18 Irwin Racing Mark Winterbottom Holden Commodore ZB 1:12.9118 0:00.2346
8 333 Shell V-Power Racing Team Fabian Coulthard Ford Mustang GT 1:13.0246 0:00.3474
9 2 Mobil 1 MEGA Racing Scott Pye Holden Commodore ZB 1:13.0300 0:00.3528
10 14 Freightliner Racing Tim Slade Holden Commodore ZB 1:13.0537 0:00.3765
11 23 Milwaukee Racing Will Davison Ford Mustang GT 1:13.1170 0:00.4398
12 22 Mobil 1 MEGA Racing James Courtney Holden Commodore ZB 1:13.1853 0:00.5081
13 100 Castrol Racing Rick Kelly Nissan Altima 1:13.1855 0:00.5083
14 55 Supercheap Auto Racing Chaz Mostert Ford Mustang GT 1:13.2353 0:00.5581
15 8 Elite Roads Racing Nick Percat Holden Commodore ZB 1:13.2418 0:00.5646
16 88 Red Bull Holden Racing Team Jamie Whincup Holden Commodore ZB 1:13.2856 0:00.6084
17 7 Plus Fitness Racing Andre Heimgartner Nissan Altima 1:13.3514 0:00.6742
18 35 Unit Racing Todd Hazelwood Holden Commodore ZB 1:13.4554 0:00.7782
19 19 Truck Assist TEKNO Racing Jack Le Brocq Holden Commodore ZB 1:13.4659 0:00.7887
20 3 Racing Garry Jacobson Nissan Altima 1:13.8821 0:01.2049
21 33 Boost Mobile Racing Michael Caruso Holden Commodore ZB 1:13.8963 0:01.2191
22 34 Boost Mobile Racing James Golding Holden Commodore ZB 1:13.9189 0:01.2417
23 78 Team Harvey Norman Simona De Silvestro Nissan Altima 1:13.9365 0:01.2593
24 21 Team CoolDrive Macauley Jones Holden Commodore ZB 1:14.0927 0:01.4155