Podiums and Pole positions for Holden in Townsville

Saturday at the Watpac Townsville 400 was a positive one for the Holden Motorsport tribe with Red Bull Holden Racing Team’s Jamie Whincup picking up second place in the 200km feature race, while David Reynolds took out Pole earlier in the day behind the wheel of his Penrite Racing Holden.

Whincup started the race sixth on the grid but a display of near perfect driving coupled with a fantastic race strategy by the Red Bull Holden squad saw the 7-time champion stand on the second spot of the rostrum.

“I am really proud of the crew today,” said Whincup. “They were really aggressive on the strategy and we came in early and put the pressure on the #17 guys and it was a great strategy.

“We’ve been really aggressive with setup to try and catch these guys and we made a bit of a step sideways today, which I’m happy with but hopefully we can find some gold in the pond we’re fishing in at the moment.”

His team mate Shane van Gisbergen started fifth on the grid and running a reverse strategy from Whincup, was able to pick off plenty of places in the back end of the race, on fresher tyres, to eventually come home in fourth after an awesome last-lap pass on Fabian Coulthard.

A pitstop drama for Reynolds with a faulty wheel nut saw the Penrite driver slip down the order in the mid-part of the race and he would eventually finish sixth after a spirited fightback.

Brad Jones Racing driver Nick Percat put in a great drive to claim eighth spot while Mark Winterbottom also drove superbly to finish ninth behind the wheel of his IRWIN Racing Commodore.

Earlier in the day, Reynold’s Armor All Pole Position was a big talking point in the paddock and a huge coup for the Holden driver.

“I’m so happy, I’m so proud of everyone,” said Reynolds.

“The funny thing is, I had no radio that last lap, so I had no idea.

“I saw that, I was like it was a pretty good time across the line, that’s alright, I had no idea, and then I got halfway around and saw ‘pole position: Dave Reynolds’.

“That’s so cool, I’m so happy, that’s amazing.

“I’m just really proud of the boys because in Practice 3 I hit the fence and made them work a bit harder. Repaying them back.”
Tomorrow will see the inclusion of the always entertaining Top-10 Shootout followed by the second 200km feature race at 3.10pm local time.

Results: Race 17, Watpac Townsville 400

Pos Num Team/Sponsor Driver Car Laps Race time
1 17 Shell V-Power Racing Team Scott McLaughlin Ford Mustang GT 70 1:28:55.7924
2 88 Red Bull Holden Racing Team Jamie Whincup Holden Commodore ZB 70 1:29:00.4949
3 55 Supercheap Auto Racing Chaz Mostert Ford Mustang GT 70 1:29:03.1495
4 97 Red Bull Holden Racing Team Shane van Gisbergen Holden Commodore ZB 70 1:29:05.8452
5 333 Shell V-Power Racing Team Fabian Coulthard Ford Mustang GT 70 1:29:06.4901
6 9 Penrite Racing David Reynolds Holden Commodore ZB 70 1:29:13.3285
7 23 Milwaukee Racing Will Davison Ford Mustang GT 70 1:29:19.9320
8 8 Elite Roads Racing Nick Percat Holden Commodore ZB 70 1:29:23.2831
9 18 Irwin Racing Mark Winterbottom Holden Commodore ZB 70 1:29:38.6904
10 5 The Bottle-O Racing Team Lee Holdsworth Ford Mustang GT 70 1:29:39.4309
11 99 Penrite Racing Anton De Pasquale Holden Commodore ZB 70 1:29:44.1757
12 7 Plus Fitness Racing Andre Heimgartner Nissan Altima 70 1:29:47.6467
13 22 Mobil 1 MEGA Racing James Courtney Holden Commodore ZB 70 1:29:49.0412
14 35 Unit Racing Todd Hazelwood Holden Commodore ZB 70 1:29:57.9232
15 34 Boost Mobile Racing James Golding Holden Commodore ZB 70 1:29:58.6731
16 14 Freightliner Racing Tim Slade Holden Commodore ZB 70 1:29:59.9910
17 100 Castrol Racing Rick Kelly Nissan Altima 70 1:30:00.5587
18 21 Team CoolDrive Macauley Jones Holden Commodore ZB 70 1:30:04.1019
19 78 Team Harvey Norman Simona De Silvestro Nissan Altima 69 1:28:57.7037
20 2 Mobil 1 MEGA Racing Scott Pye Holden Commodore ZB 69 1:29:02.1256
21 6 Monster Energy Racing Team Cameron Waters Ford Mustang GT 69 1:29:03.6492
22 33 Boost Mobile Racing Michael Caruso Holden Commodore ZB 69 1:29:07.6668
23 19 Truck Assist TEKNO Racing Jack Le Brocq Holden Commodore ZB 69 1:29:11.5946
24 3 RABBLE.club Racing Garry Jacobson Nissan Altima 69 1:29:16.8294

Championship points

Pos Driver Pts
1 Scott McLaughlin 2096
2 Fabian Coulthard 1738
3 David Reynolds 1589
4 Chaz Mostert 1529
5 Jamie Whincup 1528
6 Shane van Gisbergen 1519
7 Nick Percat 1273
8 Cameron Waters 1267
9 Will Davison 1232
10 Lee Holdsworth 1134
11 Mark Winterbottom 1093
12 Tim Slade 1080
13 Anton De Pasquale 1080
14 James Courtney 1057
15 Andre Heimgartner 1016
16 Scott Pye 916
17 Todd Hazelwood 883
18 Rick Kelly 825
19 James Golding 779
20 Simona De Silvestro 760
21 Macauley Jones 624
22 Garry Jacobson 623
23 Jack Le Brocq 604
24 Richie Stanaway 482
25 Jack Smith 219
26 Chris Pither 159
27 Tim Blanchard 93
28 Michael Caruso 39