Red Bull Holden Racing Team launches Esports Supercars team

The Red Bull Holden Racing Team has announced it will be launching an Esport Supercars team, racing for the first time in the 2019 Gfinity Supercars Eseries.

In the simulator will be Dayne Warren, three-time iRacing V8 Supercars Official Series Champion, two-time Oceanic Sim Racing V8 Supercars Series Champion and 2017 Australian Online Supercars Champion.

Dayne says, “I’m stoked to be launching the Red Bull Holden Racing Team Esport Supercars team and to be competing against some of the best sim racers across Australia and New Zealand. To be backed by the team is incredible and I was able to meet one of the drivers, Shane van Gisbergen ahead of the competition, which was a massive highlight.”

To celebrate the new addition to the team, Red Bull Holden Racing Team Supercars driver, Shane van Gisbergen took Dayne for a supercar hot lap at Sydney Motorsport Park. As the two racing worlds collided on the track, Dayne was able to share an experience with one of his heroes and Shane learnt all about the world of sim racing.

Shane van Gisbergen said, “I’m really excited to welcome Dayne into the extended Red Bull Holden Racing Team crew. After experiencing the simulator, there’s no doubt that Dayne is incredibly talented in sim racing. It’s exciting that the Red Bull Holden Racing Team is getting behind a sport with one of the biggest followings in the world. We will be supporting Dayne throughout the Eseries and who knows hopefully we can both come away from the season with some podium finishes.”

And while teammate Jamie Whincup has numerous achievements out on track in the real world, it seems like we won’t be seeing him lining up on the Eseries grid any time soon.

“The world is changing and Esports are only going to get bigger, so it’s great to see Triple Eight Race Engineering supporting Esports and engaging in the Eseries space with Red Bull Holden Racing Team. Judging from my limited experience with gaming and simulators I will continue with what I know best and keep it on the racetrack,” said Jamie Whincup.

In its second year running, the 2019 Gfinity Supercars Eseries opening round will be held on 24th September and run through to the end of the Supercars season in November. Twelve of the best sim racers across Australia and New Zealand will go head to head over six rounds on the world’s leading motorsport simulation software, iRacing.

The entire competition will be broadcast LIVE and free at
You can also watch the races on Fox Sports, the Supercars app or Supercars social media channels including YouTube, Facebook, Twitter and Twitch.

Dayne started playing racing games on the PlayStation 1 due to a long-life love and involvement of cars and racing, spanning from his dad and his passion for cars. Eventually through the years playing any racing game he could get, Dayne’s interest developed to buying his first gaming simulator.
His list of accomplishments in the sim racing world include:

2018 Virtual Sim Racing Showdown Round 2 Winner
3x iRacing V8 Supercar Official Series Champion
2x Oceanic Sim Racing V8 Supercar Series Champion
Oceanic Endurance Series S3 LMP1 Champion
Race winner in V8 Online Premier Series
2018 AOSC Bathurst 650 Winner
2017 Australian Online Supercars Champion

Raised in Auckland, New Zealand Shane van Gisbergen spent his early years racing ATVs on natural terrain motocross tracks and a Quarter Midget on speedway ovals. Then followed a brief but successful dalliance with karts and then a year in the Formula First class courtesy of New Zealand’s SpeedSport magazine scholarship programme saw his focus turn to tarmac. Ever since, he has been on a fast track to major league Australasian success. In 2016, Shane moved to the successful Triple Eight Race Engineering team, alongside Jamie Whincup and Craig Lowndes, and won the Virgin Australia Supercars Championship that same year.

The Eseries will see twelve drivers go head to head over six rounds to determine an Eseries champion. The Eseries rounds will commence 24th September 2019 7:30pm AEST and conclude 19th November 2019.