Red Bull Holden Racing wins in Pukekohe

The Red Bull Holden Racing Team are back in business with Shane van Gisbergen winning Race 23 of the Virgin Australia Supercars Championship

Van Gisbergen took the lead form his #1 grid position and put in a stellar performance despite a safety car period which spiced up the race and the field for the closing part of the race.

“Man this place, all the support it just makes you lift and you come here and it’s just such an awesome feeling to have so many Kiwi fans, so glad we could get one (win) and hopefully we get another tomorrow,” said van Gisbergen.

Whincup meanwhile started from 12th on the grid and a timely safety car, coupled with an early pit stop by the team put the #88 in the hunt as he lead the race inbetween the first and second round of pit stops before van Gisbergen swapped back for the lead, after the last round of stops was completed.

UPDATE: David Reynolds and Penrite Racing pick up a podium with 3rd place at Pukekohe Park.

Jamie Whincup finished the race second but has been handed a 15-sec penalty by the race stewards following a post-race investigation. He drops to sixth as a result.

As a result of the post-race investigation, Triple Eight has lost its one two finish with Cameron Waters now inheriting second while Reynolds takes third.

Earlier in the day van Gisbergen also scored the Red Bull Holden Racing Team’s second Pole Position of the year with a massive lap of Pukekohe Park Raceway, setting a new qualifying lap record in the process.

“Just fired up man, there’s nothing like racing at home,” said van Gisbergen.

“All the people here cheering us on, it’s such a cool feeling. Bloody awesome day, thanks.

“My first lap was really good; first lap of the second run I mucked up and pulled it together for the last one. Yeah, super stoked.”

Despite still recovering from a neck injury, Boost Mobile Racing’s Richie Stanaway put in a superb drive on home soil to finish 10th behind the wheel of his Holden – his best result with the team.

Tomorrow’s Race 24 will see another 70-lap feature race with Sunday’s program also seeing a return of the Armor All Top-10 Shootout.

Results: Race 23, ITM Auckland SuperSprint Updated

Pos Num Team/Sponsor Driver Car Laps Race time
1 97 Red Bull Holden Racing Team Shane van Gisbergen Holden Commodore ZB 70 1:19:07.6388
2 6 Monster Energy Racing Team Cameron Waters Ford Mustang GT 70 1:19:20.2879
3 9 Penrite Racing David Reynolds Holden Commodore ZB 70 1:19:23.0666
4 17 Shell V-Power Racing Team Scott McLaughlin Ford Mustang GT 70 1:19:23.7278
5 5 The Bottle-O Racing Team Lee Holdsworth Ford Mustang GT 70 1:19:24.5302
6 88 Red Bull Holden Racing Team Jamie Whincup Holden Commodore ZB 70 1:19:25.0018
7 12 Shell V-Power Racing Team Fabian Coulthard Ford Mustang GT 70 1:19:29.0219
8 7 Plus Fitness Racing Andre Heimgartner Nissan Altima 70 1:19:29.6345
9 23 Milwaukee Racing Will Davison Ford Mustang GT 70 1:19:32.4612
10 33 Boost Mobile Racing Richie Stanaway Holden Commodore ZB 70 1:19:33.5656
11 14 Machinery House Racing Tim Slade Holden Commodore ZB 70 1:19:34.2994
12 8 NZ Safety Blackwoods Racing Nick Percat Holden Commodore ZB 70 1:19:39.4878
13 2 Mobil 1 Racing Scott Pye Holden Commodore ZB 70 1:19:39.9183
14 35 Bigmate Racing Todd Hazelwood Holden Commodore ZB 70 1:19:45.4886
15 99 Penrite Racing Anton De Pasquale Holden Commodore ZB 70 1:19:45.9585
16 78 Team Harvey Norman Simona De Silvestro Nissan Altima 70 1:19:46.2248
17 22 Mobil 1 Racing James Courtney Holden Commodore ZB 70 1:19:47.6236
18 3 Racing Garry Jacobson Nissan Altima 70 1:19:49.8172
19 15 Castrol Racing Rick Kelly Nissan Altima 70 1:19:54.6695
20 21 Team CoolDrive Macauley Jones Holden Commodore ZB 70 1:20:05.5406
21 19 Truck Assist TEKNO Racing Jack Le Brocq Holden Commodore ZB 69 1:19:21.9992
22 18 Irwin Racing Mark Winterbottom Holden Commodore ZB 65 1:19:56.9295
23 34 Boost Mobile Racing James Golding Holden Commodore ZB 60 1:19:52.4998
24 55 Supercheap Auto Racing Chaz Mostert Ford Mustang GT 56 1:20:09.3370

Championship points Updated

Pos Driver Pts
1 Scott McLaughlin 2858
2 Shane van Gisbergen 2272
3 Fabian Coulthard 2248
4 Chaz Mostert 2198
5 Jamie Whincup 2083
6 David Reynolds 2051
7 Cameron Waters 1912
8 Nick Percat 1774
9 Will Davison 1745
10 Lee Holdsworth 1644
11 Anton De Pasquale 1620
12 Andre Heimgartner 1478
13 James Courtney 1456
14 Mark Winterbottom 1426
15 Tim Slade 1407
16 Scott Pye 1258
17 Rick Kelly 1230
18 Todd Hazelwood 1180
19 James Golding 1139
20 Simona De Silvestro 1033
21 Jack Le Brocq 856
22 Macauley Jones 852
23 Garry Jacobson 812
24 Richie Stanaway 650
25 Jack Smith 285
26 Michael Caruso 222
27 Chris Pither 159
28 Thomas Randle 108
29 Tim Blanchard 93