Tim Slade


The 2019 Virgin Australia Supercars Championship marks 10 years since Tim Slade joined the field with Paul Morris Motorsport.

He has finished 11th in the points the last two years, ahead of team-mate Nick Percat in 2017 and just behind last term.

While Slade was the top BJR driver in a difficult 2017 for the Albury outfit, he had to settle for 11th and a pair of late-season podiums on the streets of the Gold Coast and Newcastle.

Tim Slade broke through for his first Supercars win at Winton in 2016 on his 227th attempt – and he was able to immediately back up the result the following day.

Slade became 2016’s second double race winner at Winton, in a hugely competitive season that saw 10 different winners in the first 13 races.

The South Australian shifted from Walkinshaw Racing at the end of 2015 after the team’s decision to downsize, and hopes to continue racking up podium finishes as he did in his maiden season with BJR at Winton and Hidden Valley in Darwin.

Slade first made headlines in 2006 when he finished second in the Australian Formula Ford Championship.

He progressed to the V8 Development Series in 2007, taking his first round win with his own team in 2008 and claiming the Privateers Cup for the best non-main game affiliated driver.

Slade’s persistence captured the attention of Supercars team owner Paul Morris, and he was rewarded with a full-time drive for the Supercheap Auto Racing squad in 2009, scoring top-10 results in the Phillip Island and Bathurst endurance races.

A shift to Stone Brothers Racing in 2010 yielded further improvements, Slade finishing 16th before taking his first podium finish in 2011 en-route to ninth overall.

2012 was an even more impressive season for Slade, who finished fifth overall after scoring more podiums along with his first career pole.

The 2013 season was more challenging, Slade remaining with his team through its transition to Erebus Motorsport and struggling for results as the team developed its Mercedes-Benz customer entries.

Slade returned to a Holden Commodore in 2014 and continued with Walkinshaw Racing in the Supercheap Auto entry in 2015 before shifting to the family-run BJR team.